Announcing the 8th Annual Dixie Kane Memorial Contest

Attention writers!  SOLA, the Southern Louisiana Chapter of Romance Writers of America, a nonprofit literary organization, invites you to enter the 8th Annual Dixie Kane Memorial Contest. Begun in 2004 to honor the late SOLA member, Linda Kay West who wrote under the name Dixie Kane.  This national competition offers you the opportunity to have your work critiqued by four industry professionals.  The first place winners in each category will be read by an editor of The Wild Rose Press.  The Annual Dixie Kane Memorial Contest is open to published and unpublished writers in the following categories:  short/long series contemporary, single title contemporary, historical romance, paranormal, inspirational, novel w/strong romantic elements, romantic suspense, and erotic romance.   All we need are the first five (5) pages along with a one page synopsis of your plot and you are in the race to win local, national and professional recognition.
            SOLA supports artists from the seeding of an idea through the outline and plotting stage to submitting a polished manuscript to an agent or publisher.  Since its inception in 2004, the Annual Dixie Kane Memorial Contest has offered significant exposure for the winners in each of the eight (8) categories.  Many past contestants have made use of the suggestions offered by Dixie Kane judges and found agents and publishers for their work.
            The deadline for entering is July 15, 2013  extended to July 31, 2013 and the entry fee is $15.00 per manuscript.  For more information on the range of categories, entry rules, and a downloadable version of our entry form, follow these links. We hope to hear from you soon.  While at our site, please check out the testimonials on the links for Contest Success Stories and Contest Survey Results.