Announcing the 6th Annual Dixie Kane Memorial Contest

 Sixth Annual Dixie Kane Memorial Contest

Girl mailing letter doodle

Mail your entries on time!

Sponsor: (SOLA) Southern Louisiana RWA

Fee: $15

Deadline, August 1, 2011

Eligibility: Entrants do not need to be members of Romance Writers of America to enter.

Enter: First 5 double spaced pages.  Also, one page single spaced synopsis (not judged).  No electronic submissions.

Categories: short/long series contemporary, single title contemporary, historical romance, paranormal, inspirational, novel w/ strong romantic elements, romantic suspense, and erotic romance. 

Judges: experienced, trained, published/nonpublished.

Final Editor Readers: short/long series contemporary, Rhonda Penders, Editor-in-Chief, The Wild Rose Press; single title contemporary, Rhonda Penders, Editor-in-Chief, The Wild Rose Press; historical romance, Nicole D’Arienzo, Editor, The Wild Rose Press; paranormal, Lill Farrell, Editor, The Wild Rose Press; inspirational, Nicola Martinez, Editor-in Chief, White Rose Publishing; novel w/ strong romantic elements, Rhonda Penders, Editor-in-Chief, The Wild Rose Press; romantic suspense, Rhonda Penders, Editor-in-chief, The Wild Rose Press; erotic romance, Alicia Rasley, Red Sage Publishing. 

Top Prize, $50 cash with tie breaker and special certificate for the overall highest score in all categories.  Also, first place winning entries will be sent to the above named editors for reading and potential requests for full or partial manuscript.  First, second, third place, and honorable mention certificates will be issued. Winners will be announced in RWR, SOLA’s website, New Orleans Times Picayune and other publications.

Entrants may enter more than one manuscript in the same or in separate envelopes.  Make packets of the manuscript and required forms for each entry and make checks payable to SOLA in the amount of $15 for each entry.

Email any questions to Nicholas Genovese.